Councils to promote the best of CQ living at state showcase

The benefits and highlights of living in central Queensland will be in the state spotlight during the inaugural Regional Queensland Showcase being held in Brisbane on June 12 and 13.

The Showcase was a key agenda item during the Central Queensland Regional Organisations of Councils (CQROC) meeting hosted by Gladstone Regional Council today.

CQROC Chairman and Banana Shire Mayor Ron Carige the two-day showcase was an ideal opportunity to highlight the Central Queensland region and its assets.

“It is important we maximise our exposure at the showcase to promote our people, culture, entertainment, business, education, tourism, industry, modern transport and jobs,” Councillor Carige said.

“We also want to highlight the fact we are only a short flight from Brisbane; that our townships serve as gateways to the Outback and the Great Barrier Reef; and there’s endless opportunities for those who choose to live, work or invest here.”

“CQROC members will join six other regional areas at the event to show Brisbane residents and businesses the many opportunities that exist in our regions,” Cr Carige said.

“Our delegation, including Mayors Gail Sellers, Margaret Strelow, Bill Ludwig and Paul Maguire, will attend economic and investment themed seminars while our display will showcase the best of our local communities,” he said.

Gladstone Region Mayor Gail Sellers said today’s CQROC meeting also focused on advancing discussions with state government departments in relation to funding for regional roads, economic development, infrastructure and tourism for all six member councils.

“We are identifying areas in which our councils can collaborate as a powerful lobby group to secure funding and projects for our regions,” Councillor Sellers said.

CQROC, officially formed in January 2014, is comprised of six councils: Gladstone Regional Council; Banana Shire Council, Central Highlands Regional Council, Livingstone Regional Council, Rockhampton Regional Council and Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council.

Blog Navigation